Meditation Day 10: Attention to Breath

How is your meditation practice going?  Of the past 10 days, I think I have meditated six times.  So, not each day, but significantly more than I have in the past.  I’ve noticed that I’ve started to crave it.

I want to remind you to think about your breath.  It is one of the easiest things to “think” of while you are meditating.  It is something that happens without any sort of effort from you, and you can close your eyes and focus on the rise and fall, inhale and exhale, and notice how everything else melts away.

This is something you can practice throughout the day as well, even when you are not meditating.  Bring your awareness into your body the next time you are driving, or in a stressful meeting.  Can you notice when your body has become tense and your breath has become shorter?  See if you can gently remind yourself to receive a fuller breath, relax your shoulders down, soften your face, maybe even wiggle your toes.

In my six out of ten times meditating this month, I have noticed that I have become much calmer.  That is not to say that I have not been frequently agitated; but I do notice it and shake it off more quickly.  What are you noticing?

Leave a Reply

